Search This Blog

Monday 27 May 2013

Parhelion - Midnight Sun

[Click on Image for official Parhelion page]
Country - United Kingdom
Composer - Ihor Dawidiuk
Released - December 2010
- Tracklist -
1. Tunturia (Part II)
2. Midnight Sun
3. Polar Night
4. Echoes From a Restless Sea
5. A Lament for Whales
6. Interlude
7. Meditation Over Open Waters
8. The Transmission
9. Atmospheric Refraction
10. Beneath
11. Forgotten Outpost
12. Solitude
- Review -
The cold, isolated landscapes, the sun shining through freezing winds, giving false warmth. Parhelion's Midnight Sun is a journey to lands unexplored, and the shivering atmosphere of this album take Dark Ambient to a whole new level of professionalism.

Themed around arctic landscapes, the music does not defer from this train of thought, giving the album an almost story-like feel (a concept album of no speech), in which the listener can truly be swept into and lost. And that is this album's drawcard, the atmosphere evolopes so easily, it can be easy to differ between the songs, it streams so smoothly. It relies heavily on distorted sampling (almost identical to Cities Last Broadcast) and, in most cases, keyed work is given a low priority.

Experimentation is what this album is, the use of unusual materials to create elaborate soundscapes is, and I'm sure everyone will agree with me, is the backbone of a good Ambient release, and Midnight Sun has it in spades.

No comments:

Post a Comment