Search This Blog

Sunday 5 May 2013

KoldVoid - Roadside Ghosts

[Click on image for official KoldVoid Page]
Country - Romania
Composer - Rob
Released - October 2012
- Tracklist -
1. Start
2. Equilibrium
3. Phantasma
4. Nostalgia
5. Ephmeral
6. Dream
7. Arctic Silence
8. Eyes of the Bottom-People
9. Radiance
10. Sailing Without Sails
11. End

- Review -
Now this isn't a brand new baby project, KoldVoid have been around since 2008, producing some consistently good pieces of music, all which have now culminated into this album, Roadside Ghosts.

The album does include some older writings back from years ago, and the piece Arctic Silence seems to be just a rehash of an older song with a different name (whether this is just a rename or is an evolution of the older song is unclear). But the album flows so seamlessly from Start to End, it feels as if all were written together. The tempo is at a mid to slow pace, which gives the album quite a lush and dreamy atmosphere, It doesn't rely on sampling and when there is some it is generally of a lesser importance to the piano/synth elements. Distorted guitar effects are also used.

This album is such a breath of fresh air, many ambient artist get carried away in the production, adding too many elements to songs and ruining it in the process, they feel rushed. But not this album, this is perfect,  simple synth work from a talented artist, and should be a benchmark for aspiring musicians.

No comments:

Post a Comment