Search This Blog

Tuesday 14 May 2013

Fredrik Klingwall - Works of Woe

[Click on image for official Fredrik Klingwall website]
Country - Sweden
Composer - Fredrik Klingwall
Released - March 2009
- Tracklist -
1. The Sleeper
2. Alone
3. Spirits of the Dead
4. An Enigma
5. The Conqueror Worm
6. The Valley of Unrest
7. The City in the Sea
8. For Annie
9. A Dream Within a Dream
- Review -
Fredrik Klingwall is well known already as an established metal musician, but his more ambient and classical (which go hand in hand for Fredrik) works seem to go by unnoticed.
Works of Woe is his undoubted compilation of his musical talents, inspired by the works of Edgar Allan Poe, Each song is a testament to the legendary poet, and the musicians capability of composing Dark Ambient to create such dark pieces, sounding like they're prepped for a horror movie (Silent Hill anyone?). The simplicity of this album, which is made entirely from one piano, creates soundscapes so similar to more established Ambient projects, so knowing that, all Klingwall has to do is take his music to the masses. All he needs is one instrument to do it.

No comments:

Post a Comment