Search This Blog

Monday 5 August 2013

Grzegorz Bojanek - Constraints

[Click on image for official Grzegorz Bojanek website]
Country - Poland
Composer - Grzegorz Bojanek
Released - July 2013
- Tracklist -
1. We Are All Red Green and Blue
2. Three is Enough
3. My Mind Between the Walls
4. That Day Remained in my Mind
5. All Four Seasons
6. Alone
7. One Hot Day
8. Garbage
9. Drops
10. My Garden
11. Listening to Birds
12. Warm Autumn
13. Violet World
- Reveiw -
Another one of those gems found whilst wondering the ever evolving fields of Bandcamp, Grzegorz Bojanek has given us not only a solid ambient release with Constraints, but also a conceptual artpiece in itself, just from how this noise is given to us.
I won't into too much detail about the sound given here, it would take forever, but Grzegorz has included some familiar sounds, field recordings simply from around home, and it gives such a warm sense that this noise can be made from simple objects. It lets the album breath easily, given its DIY style, not to be wrought through the professional studio wringer. This album is still beautifully produced don't get me wrong, but it the production is not overdone, so that it sounds artificial.
There are of course sweeping synth and orchestral elements to go with the noise, and again this is not overdone either, rather giving the music a polished edge, and sometimes you may not even be able to hear this. Now Grzegorz could have just stopped here and given us a great album, but what stands out for me on this release is the acoustic work, this just gives the music a whole new level of atmosphere, catapulting it into ethereal, almost dream-inducing atmosphere.
This album could be an incarnation of harmony, as all elements play equal roles, and would not work at all if one was lower or missing.
Favourite songs include 'Three is Enough' because of it's melancholic chime work, and 'Listening to Birds' for, like I said before, flawless acoustics.

No comments:

Post a Comment