Search This Blog

Monday 29 July 2013

Virlyn - Man Asleep

[Click on image for official Virlyn website]

Country - Belgium
Composer - Frédéric Vanderlynden
Released - April 2013
- Tracklist -
1. Cephei
2. Ran
3. Lilith
4. Dawn
5. Mirror Pt. 1
6. Kristal
7. Swan
8. Descent
9. Lorelei
10. Cult
- Review -
I been wanting to review this album for quite a while now, this is like a diamond-in-the-rough find such as that Brambles album I reviewed a while back, Something I would have never found if it wasn't for my virtual best friend Bandcamp.
Virlyn seems much more ethereal than most projects, It isn't thick with atmosphere, but it still pushes down on the listener. It seemingly has a lighter airier tone, like floating within the stratosphere kind of atmosphere. The music seems to flow easily throughout the layers, and doesn't give away too much at all, giving the composition almost a malleable affect. A swarth of guest musicians and singers add their own special touch to the music, be it Violins, Cellos or Saxophone. The music benefits from these stylistic cues and it all works towards that lighter tone I talked about earlier.
Ever since listening to the album Notes for the Synthesis by The Seven Mile Journey, I have had a soft spot for stringed instruments (Violin, Cello, Double Bass etc..). This albums hits that spot well, but not perfectly, however overall this was an enjoyable album that I urge the rest of you to listen to.

No comments:

Post a Comment